One Week Down . . .

For Prof. Nixon’s FYE 1220 Class:

You’ve now completed your first full week at Georgia Southern University. Take a few moments now and reflect on the following three questions:

  1. What did you learn?
  2. What surprised you?
  3. What do you now want to know more about?

In the Leave a Reply area, fill out the short demographic form (name, e-mail, etc.) and respond with at least one item in each of the three categories. In other words, let me know at least one thing you learned, one thing that surprised you, and one thing you want to know more about. Your answers can focus on college in general or on this Making Connections: Facebook & Beyond course.

25 Responses

  1. 1. Something ive learned & am still learning is how to handle all this responsiblity carefully & more productivly..
    2. I was suprised on how kind & generous people are.
    3. I’d like to know more bout clubs & organizations esp. ones having to do with my field of study..

  2. 1. One thing I’ve learned is that once mom and dad stop paying for stuff, life gets really expensive really fast! I’ve learned how dependent I was, and still kind of am, o my parents.
    2. I was surprised at how easy they made it for us to find classes. I thought we would just be on our own to figure out where the heck we were going, but everyone was really helpful.
    3. I’d like to learn more about things to get involved with on campus. I’ve found a couple of awesome organizations, and its been a great way to make friends.

  3. 1. One thing I have learned in my first week at Southern is, no one is going to tell you to get up, go to class, or be on time. The responsibility is all up to you.
    2. Something that surprised me was how far the walk is from the union bus stop to all my classes.
    3. I want to know more about Statesboro and where everything is without getting lost.

  4. 1. I learned that walking all the way from the dorms to classes is not fun at all.

    2. I was surprised to see how much free time a college student has during the day.

    3. I want to know more about whether or not the cops try to help you or get you in trouble. haha

  5. 1. One thing I have leraned since I have made Georgia Southern my new home is how to take on responsibility and how to make decisons that have my best interest in mind.

    2. I was surprised at how welcoming people are here, it really makes one feel like they belong.

    3. I would like to become more knowledgeable on ways to become more active in campus life.

  6. 1. One thing I’ve learned is that time management is really important, and being responsible for yourself is not as easy as it seems.
    2. I was surprised how much I enjoy being independent. I thought I wouldn’t like being on my own, but I have actually enjoyed moving at my own pace.
    3. I’d like to learn more about managing my finances.

  7. 1. I learned that being on my own I have a bigger responsibility. I have to take care of myself now and not depend on other people.
    2. I was suprised at how nice my teachers were. I knew some would be nice but I got nice teachers, easy classes and convenient locations. College is not as bad as people make it out to be.
    3. I want to know more about the Baseball team. I am interested in trying out for Second Base and I want to know what I have to do.

  8. 1. Moving to Statesboro, I have learned that fending for myself is actually a bit harder than i had originally imagined. Being responsible for everything including my school work, my home responsibilites, my night life, etc. it can all get a bit overwhelming. However, i am learning very quickly and adjusting to the independent life very nicely.

    2. I have been suprised by myself in my transition to college. I originally thought that i would be too overwhelmed with college life that i wouldnt be able to function. On the contrary, I havent been overwhelmed too much and have actually be impressed with my abilities to juggle school work and my social life.

    3. One thing i would like to learn more about is the professors. I get really stressed out at the thought of not knowing anything about the person thats going to be teaching me for a whole semester. Hopefully, I will hear and ask around to learn more about the faculty here at GSU.

  9. 1. I have learned that I need to start saving money, shopping for college, buying books, and clothes cost a whole lot of money. I felt blessed knowing my parents were prepared for all the costs, shocked, but prepared. I am also learning how to manage my time, study, eat right, and take care of myself. And, (this is kind of embarrassing), I did the laundry by myself for the first time.
    2. I was surprised at how nice and helpful the professors are. In high school, the teachers would keep repeating to us the teachers in college were extremely strict. they would say the professors did not care about their students and would lock them out if they were late. I’m sure this does happen, but all of my professors are really cool and laidback, and i didn’t even use the pickaprof site.
    3. I would like to learn more about the majors I am interested in and what jobs they may lead to. I would also like to learn more about the clubs, intramural sports, job opportunities, and volunteer work available to students.

  10. 1. One thing i have learned is I have way more responsibility here in college then in high school. No more mom and dad to tell me what to do, I have to make that decision on my own.
    2.I was surprised how even though this campus is so much bigger than high school, it didn’t take long to learn my way around .
    3.I would like to learn how to get more involved on campus as well as the best way to manage my social life and my school work.

  11. 1. I have learned how to get from one destination to another. Also how to pace myself when it comes to getting to class on time.
    2. I was surprised with all the responsibility that I have. No one tells me to wake up anymore, be on time to class, or study!
    3. I want to know more about getting involved, learning about the city, and how to make college stress -free and easy going.

  12. 1. Since I am a Junior, college is pretty natural to me by now. I already have one degree out of the way and I’m on to finish my second at 20 years old. Southern is definately a different atmosphere than what I’m used to. The school I transfered from was much smaller and definately not as many students! I have learned that this is what life is all about! To move away to a bigger college and start a new chapter in your life. I am so glad that I have been given this opportunity!
    2. What really surprised me was how similar Southern is to my previous college, Georgia Military College in Augusta. The teachers are just as nice and helpful and the students are just as fun, polite, and willing to learn! I am surprised at how much more I love this school than I love my previous college. I thought I could never love something as much as that small school!
    3. I want to know more about the town of Statesboro and Southern it self. I am all about school pride and taking pride in where I live my life.

  13. 1. I think the biggest thing I’ve learned is you got to be way more flexible as far as unexpected things happening. College isn’t as structured as hiighschool was and you have to deal with each thing as it happens.
    2. The most suprisng thing for me is how willing the professors are to help you, provided you make the effort to seek them out. I had worried that the professors wouldn’t care if I pass a class or not.
    3. I really want to learn ways to get invloved with activities on campus.

  14. 1.) I’ve finally learned what being out on my own means, and I love it. There no one to ride you and make sure you get the things you need to do done so your free to live the lifestyle you want to live.
    2.) It surprised me how much free time I have during the day. I thought there would be a lot more time devoted to class.
    3.) I want to further explore the organizations available here at GSU, and join a couple.

  15. 1.) I have learned that I definately have alot more freedom but along with it comes responsibility. No one is going to make me go to class or do my work, it’s all up to me. Also, I have to stay very organized to keep up with what is do for what class and when!!
    2.) I’m actually surprised at how helpful the professors really are. They are willing to help if you seek after it. It’s not like everyone implies that they are all out to get you!
    3.) I want to learn, and am learning with time, how to manage my school work, friends, sorority, and family all at the same time!! It just takes a while to get adjusted to it all.

  16. 1) I’ve learned that I have to manage my time more between classes, fun, and everything else.
    2) I’m surprised by how bored I can get during the day. I have time between classes but not enough to really do anything besides go to the library.
    3) Now I want to know more about how to manage that free time that I’m just wasting so that I have more free time after classes.

  17. 1. I’ve learned that just because you are from Statesboro, doesn’t mean you know everything about it. Campus life is completely different then regular day life in Statesboro.

    2. I’m surprised at how laid back the campus is. Students, professors, and classroom settings are all generally laid back and it helps alot with the transition to college.

    3. I would like to know more about the professors. Some introduced themselves, while others just started teaching. It would help to know a little about them and their personalitys.

  18. 1. I have learned that Georgia Southern has grown a lot since I attended two years ago.

    2. I am surprised at how many students ride the bus now.

    3. I would like to know more about campus organizations.

  19. 1. I have learned that it is all up to me to handle my classwork and all my new responsibilities as a college student.

    2. I am surprised how big the campus is and how easy it is for me to get lost.

    3. I would really like to know more about all the different clubs and organizations.

  20. 1. One thing I’ve learned is its not always as easy as it was in high school to balance everything…school, social life, being in a sorority, trying to find time to get a job….if only there were more hours in the day.

    2. I was surprised with how many people I’ve met and friends I’ve made, I was a little worried because all my friends went to different schools the past few weeks I’ve met so many amazing people and made so many new friends.

    3. I want to learn my way around better.

  21. […] Respond to my post (at my blog) […]

  22. 1) One thing i learned in the first week was.. now that you have a lot more free time its really important to get things done when you have the chance and the time.

    2) I was surprised to have met so many great people. With so many people from my highschool coming to this university i was worried that it would be hard making friends, but sure enough i did.

    3) I want to learn more about everything in general that this scholl has to offer

  23. […] One Week Down (includes tips from my FYE 1220 students from last fall) […]

  24. Greetings! Very helpful advice within this article!
    It’s the little changes which will make the most significant changes. Many thanks for sharing!

  25. I am extremely impressed with your writing talents and also with the format for your weblog.
    Is that this a paid topic or did you customize it yourself?
    Anyway stay up the nice quality writing, it is rare to peer a nice
    blog like this one these days..

Leave a Reply

