Twitter for College Students: 7 Tips Plus a Bonus

Twitter is a powerful tool for students and educators, when it’s used appropriately. Here are seven tips, plus one bonus, for college students beginning to use Twitter.

  1. Learn the language of Twitter using the Twitter Lexicon.
  2. Remember that your tweets are viewable by anyone with an Internet connection, unless you’ve protected them. They’re viewable in real time on the public timeline, through Twitter’s search function, and even through a Google search. Keep it clean. Avoid profanity.
  3. Use Twitter for sharing links to websites. If the URL is too long to fit with your message in 140 characters, use a URL-shortening service like TinyURL or POPrl.
  4. When you share a link to a website, let your followers (readers) know what the site is or why they might want to see it. For example, “Hmmm . . . I wonder if there’s any empirical evidence for this? http://poprl.com/00S No mattter. It still made me laugh.”
  5. Twitter works on a cell phone, too. You’ll first have to activate your cell phone to work with Twitter. Then, in the US, send a text message to 40404 to have it post to Twitter. You may even want to receive some of your friends/followers’ tweets on your cell phone. Be judicious about this, or you’ll soon be overwhelmed.
  6. Have a link to your blog posts automatically show up in Twitter using Twitterfeed.
  7. If your professors don’t share their cell phone numbers with you (and I usually don’t), you can still reach them quickly by sending a direct tweet to them. The way my phone and Twitter are set up, I receive direct tweets as quickly as text messages. (NOTE: This only works if your professor follows you on Twitter.)

And a bonus: Even though professors don’t ever tell you you should cheat, here’s a great little cheat sheet of Twitter codes, provided by Jason Theodor.

Questions about Twitter? Leave them as a comment below, or follow me on Twitter and send me an @ there!

20 Responses

  1. […] Review my tips on how college students can use Twitter to their advantage. […]

  2. Thanks for the info. I’ve heard a lot about twitter but never tried it. Your article makes me want to to tweet!

  3. […] my Google Reader (I am perusing it as I type this post), I found Twitter for College Students. Barbara also appears to be a great resource if you have any questions on Twitter-she assigns her […]

  4. […] Will I continue to use One Week of Twitter as an assignment in my public relations classes? Definitely. And do I recommend that my students continue to use Twitter? Definitely. [Students: See Twitter for College Students: 7 Tips Plus a Bonus.] […]

  5. […] Review my tips on how college students can use Twitter to their advantage. […]

  6. […] Review my tips on how college students can use Twitter to their advantage. […]

  7. Excellent story and tips about Tweeter. Good job on your site. I hope students appreciate your effort. 😉

  8. […] Review my tips on how college students can use Twitter to their advantage. […]

  9. […] my tips on how college students can use Twitter to their advantage and Choosing Whom to Follow on Twitter: My […]

  10. […] my tips on how college students can use Twitter to their advantage and Choosing Whom to Follow on Twitter: My […]

  11. […] my tips on how college students can use Twitter to their advantage and Choosing Whom to Follow on Twitter: My […]

  12. […] now I’m reviewing these links from Barbara Nixon’s blog, Public Relations Matters: Twitter for Public Relations Students, College Students Guide: Twitter 101, and Twitter: Whats In It for Me? So hopefully these will give […]

  13. […] my tips on how college students can use Twitter to their advantage and Choosing Whom to Follow on Twitter: My […]

  14. […] my tips on how college students can use Twitter to their advantage and Choosing Whom to Follow on Twitter: My […]

  15. […] personal and professional terms. As a college student and fairly new user, I found the article, “Twitter for College Students: 7 Tips Plus a Bonus” very helpful to answer my questions about Twitter lingo and the appropriate ways to […]

  16. […] that are interesting and important to know as a Marketing major. I came across a blog post titled “Twitter for College Students: 7 Tips Plus a Bonus” and encourage anyone new to the Twitter world to take a look at […]

  17. […] found many valuable things during that hour; such as tips for tweeting if you’re a college student and things to avoid doing on Twitter.  Who knew that Twitter can be so helpful for college […]

  18. […] also learned to use a URL shortener by using Twitter, which was one of the tips in “Twitter for College Students.” I posted several links during the two weeks, and they took up a lot of my 140 characters. I […]

  19. […] reading the article, Twitter for College Students: 7 Tips Plus a Bonus, I learned how important Twitter is not only […]

  20. […] Twitter for College Students […]

Leave a Reply

